Turn around and she’s two, turn around and she’s four…

Turn around and she's two, turn around and she's four...

Seven years ago today I was visiting my dad in the hospital. I hadn’t slept a lot the night before because I knew my daughter in law was in labor with my first grandchild. My son called around 9 am just as I was chatting with dad and trying to cheer him up. It was a sad, sad time for him. My mother had just passed on five weeks before and he was lost. Deep in depression and now in the hospital from a fall. I answered my phone and heard the sound of my son’s voice. He said “Mom- she’s here!” “SHE??” We weren’t sure if it was going to be a girl or a boy – the ultrasound had been unclear. But I had hoped for a girl. I have 3 wonderful sons and loved having boys but a girl would be fun and different. My own mother didn’t have any granddaughters and I thought this woud be special for her too, had she lived. But I remember reaching to the heavens in tears and saying, “MOM!! We’ve got our girl!” I know she was smiling.
These past seven years have been a gift – 3 grandsons have followed and they are all growing up too fast.
I want to savor every moment. Mom and Dad are both gone now and it’s just time to enjoy the next generation.
Life goes on…

2 thoughts on “Turn around and she’s two, turn around and she’s four…

Leave a Reply

