Bye-Bye Baby… I’m not ready yet!

Bye-Bye Baby... I'm not ready yet!

The last thing to mark a child’s rite of passage from babyhood to big kid, is the loss of their first tooth. Such a huge deal it is!! The tooth starts to wiggle a little and then that’s all they can think about until it finally falls out. They play with it until their tongues are raw from trying to push it out just a little bit further. They won’t let us pull it out – NO WAY!! That would hurt more than hot lava on bare skin. They anticipate the tooth fairy’s first visit and what might be left under their pillow. They show their teeth to complete strangers in the grocery store, hoping they will see they have a loose tooth. They actually do tell the cashier – cashiers are safe. “How many more days do you think it will take Gramma?” “Gramma, did you remember I have a loose tooth? I think today’s the day!” “Oh I hope it falls out at school, then the whole class can celebrate.” Yes, it is a big, big deal.
FINALLY… the day comes… the tooth falls out – THANK GOD! And it really should be on the 5 o’clock news. It’s been a looong wait.
Although it is one of the most exciting things to happen to six year old children – for me it’s not really so. It means bye-bye to my baby. Here comes the big teeth and with it, comes the big kid. Slow down.. wait for me.. I’m not ready yet!

2 thoughts on “Bye-Bye Baby… I’m not ready yet!

  1. Why, oh why, do they want to grow up so fast? I remember how we couldn’t wait for our tooth to fall out and now at 60+ we are just trying to keep them all in place, go figure. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

