It’s a fridge, it’s a water dispenser, it’s a COLLAGE!

It's a fridge, it's a water dispenser, it's a COLLAGE!

Growing up in the 50’s and 60’s, we had a plain, unadorned, white refrigerator with a single door. Up top was a freezer with ice cube trays. I don’t remember anyone having ice makers back then. We had to use a wrench-like contraption to pry the cubes out of the tray. The challenge was to get the cubes out without having them fly all over the kitchen. Not easy! Every few months my mom would remove all the contents in the freezer and set a pan of hot water inside to thaw the frost. The only thing noticable on the outside of our fridge was a few black dings made by my brother and his tricycle when he was 3 years old. My mom never wanted to fix them – she said they were fond memories of once having young children in the house.
I don’t remember when refrigerator magnets became a necessity but they are currently in just about every household. I know I’ve had them since the late 70’s when my own children were very young. Today, the outside of my refrigerator is a collage. As per Webster’s dictionary – a collage is “a technique of composing a work of art by pasting on a single surface various materials not normally associated with one another, as newspaper clippings, parts of photographs, theater tickets and fragments of an envelope.” This pretty much sums up my “refrigerator artwork.” But unlike my own mother, I also have many fond memories of young children in my household. Their pictures, drawings, party invitations and anything important to them, are part of my collage. I find myself pausing to look at other peoples “works of art” displayed in their kitchens when I am visiting.
I will always cherish the memory of that plain, white, naked fridge with the few black dings, but I also like having my current cold-storage unit, my accumulation of unrelated materials – my collage! I just bet you love yours too.

Leave a Reply

