New friends, new family, new bonds, I would have never imagined.

New friends, new family, new bonds, I would have never imagined.

As we age, it sometimes seems like we have made ALL the friends we will ever make in this lifetime. I have BEST friends from childhood that mean the world to me. Relationships formed over 50 years ago that are golden. I have long time friends I made along the way from where I worked or from where I have lived.
Recently I have made some new “Grandma” friends. We have met because of our grandchildren. We met helping out in the classroom, on the soccer field, at swim lessons or gymnastics. We have so much in common. We are from the same generation, have the same wrinkles, graying hair problems, confusion over what our kids are thinking and doing. We relate and support each other in our quest to understand and keep current. We still know every Beach Boys song by heart. We become friends, we bond.
I also have new friends that I call “family.” We have been drawn together by the union of our children. Our paths would most likely have never crossed, if it weren’t for our children getting together and extending our family.
Life is on going. It changes a lot… but with these changes, I get to make new friends, new family and new bonds that I would have never imagined. How grateful I am.

Leave a Reply

