Batter Up!

Batter Up!

Yesterday was opening day for Little League in many towns across the country. Spring has sprung and with it comes baseball. I love baseball. It’s probably my favorite spectator sport because I undersatnd it. I really don’t get football – the rules are confusing and when the clock says 2 minutes to go – that usually really means 30.
With a husband and 3 sons – our family room could be pretty LOUD during a football game. I would rather be out shopping.
But baseball? I will watch and root for my favorite team, the SF Giants. I grew up with them back when they played at Candlestick Park. I got to go to a lot of games when I was a kid and knew all the players names. Those were the days of Willie Mays – the “SAY HEY” kid, Willie McCovey, Bobby Bonds, Juan Marichal and the Alou brothers.
All of my sons played baseball when they were growing up. I was glad they picked that sport over some others. My oldest son was especially good at it and played in High School. My husband and I would often leave our jobs early so we could go watch his games. Always exciting to root for your own kid.
Now, that same son has a son of his own, old enough to play. He has a good throwing arm for a six year old and seems enthusiastic about the game.
As I watch my own little boy, watch his little boy, it warms my heart to see the pride I once had passed down to the next generation.
Batter up! It’s Spring! Let’s play ball!

2 thoughts on “Batter Up!

  1. My kids are grown, but I also looked forward to those baseball games. It’s so fun to see your kids on the field, you live every miss and hit along with them, and going to get ice cream or something afterwards and talk about the game. Looking forward to having grandkids so I can do it again!

Leave a Reply

