60 something… Really… it IS just a number.

60 something... Really... it IS just a number.

I haven’t blogged in three weeks. Just got too busy with life and caring for a new puppy. As all dog lovers know, having a dog to love and be loved by, is a wonderful part of life that we wouldn’t want to miss.
What is also a wonderful part of life is being older. Sometimes I find myself admiring the tanned, thin, firm, cute bodies of the thirty somethings that seem to flaunt themselves in front of me at the mall, jogging down the street or picking their kids up from school when I am there to retrieve my granddaughter. I think, wow – where did the time go? That used to be me!!
There is song called “The Story.” It’s a sweet little composition that begins with, “All of these lines across my face, tell you the story of who I am. So many stories of where I’ve been and how I got to where I am.”
I am fortunate. I know that. I am still alive at 62. I have lost some friends that didn’t get to live this long. I don’t know why I have. What is really a blessing is that I have friends that I get to grow older with. The very same friends that were there when we were ALL tan, thin and firm. Inside, we don’t really feel any different than we did when we were giggling school girls, sharing a cherry coke and a plate of fries at W.T. Grants after school.
We laugh just as heartedly as we did when we were 17 and boy crazy, rocking out to Steppin’ Wolf and The Dave Clark Five. We haven’t changed that much at all.
We all have grown children now and grandchildren and new experiences to share and bounce off one another. We share just like we did when we were in high school. We are friends – we have fun – we love one another – we don’t feel old – we don’t act old- and we are 60 something. And really… it IS just a number!

Leave a Reply

